Dr. Alberto Davila

Dr. Alberto Davila is the Dean of the Harrison College of Business and Computing at Southeast Missouri State University. He was also a Professor of Economics, V.F. “Doc” and Gertrude Neuhaus Chair for Entrepreneurship, and Chair of the Economics Department at the University of Texas Pan American (now the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley). Dr. Davila was also Associate Dean for Administration and Graduate Programs at the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley’s College of Business.

As a child growing up in Texas and Mexico, Dr. Davila turned a childhood inquiry of why individuals choose to migrate into an illustrious and prolific career as an economist and researcher. His work has contributed substantially to understanding the factors that affect migration and Hispanic entrepreneurship, leading to over fifty publications. His publications are in outlets such as the American Economic Review Papers and Proceedings, Economic Inquiry, Economics of Education Review, Journal of Population Economics, and the Journal of Economic Behavior of Organization, among many others. He has also published three books, including Hispanic Entrepreneurs in the 2000s: An Economic Profile and Policy Implications, published by Stanford University Press. This book proposes vital policies and strategies that can drive the success of Hispanic entrepreneurs. His research expertise has also led to the Small Business Administration District Research Advocate Award for the Lower Rio Grande Valley and the Distinguished Alumnus award from the College of Business Administration at the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley (formerly UT-Pan American) 75th Anniversary.

Dr. Davila has also made substantial and lasting contributions to the economics and academic profession that stem beyond research. He co-founded the American Society for Hispanic Economists (ASHE), subsequently serving as President and Secretary. He is still a significant contributor to ASHE as he now serves as Treasurer. Dr. Davila was awarded the 2021 ASHE Service Award.