ASHE Mentoring program for Mid-career Minority Economists

The lack of advancement of underrepresented economists has been described as a leaky pipe. Hispanics or Latinos make up 18.7 percent of the population, but at each stage of advancement there is a notable decline: Bachelor’s degrees (12 percent), Master’s (9 percent), and Ph.D. (6 percent). The percentages continue to decrease when we look at faculty rank: Assistant Professors (5.9 percent), Associate Professors (5.7 percent), and Full Professors (3.8 percent). A similar pattern is seen within administrative roles. The percentage of Latinx Department Heads is 3.4 percent across all departments, only 2.7 percent in business/social science departments. The percentage of Latinx university and college presidents remained unchanged at 4 percent between 2001 and 2016. 

The purpose of this program is to help current faculty members advance to full professor and/or advance to an administrative role. The program pairs rising candidates with established full professors and administrators as well as conduct workshops open to the public about how to advance in their career goals. 

2021-2022 Mentees

Emma Aguila, University of Southern California

Johanna Attoh, Walla Walla University

Salvador Contreras, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Kalena Cortes, Texas A&M University

Juan De la Cruz, City University of New York

Jose Fernandez, University of Louisville

Enrique Lopezlira, UC Berkeley Labor Center

Vange Ocasio, Whitworth University

Sandra Orozco-Aleman, Mississippi State University

Cesar M. Rodriguez, Portland State University

Alfredo Romero, North Carolina A&T State University

Juan Carlos Suarez Serrato, Duke University


2021-2022 Mentors

Catalina Amuedo Dorantes, UC Merced

Alberto Davila, Southeast Missouri State University

Zadia Feliciano, City University of New York

Alfonso Flores-Lagunes, Syracuse University

Monica Garcia-Perez, St. Cloud State University

Jorge Gonzalez, Kalamazoo College

Mary Lopez, Occidental College

Marie Mora, University of Missouri-Saint Louis

Ronald Oaxaca, The University of Arizona

Susan Pozo, Western Michigan

Sue Stockly, Eastern New Mexico University

Sandra Trejos Clarion, University of Pennsylvania


Committee Members

Luisa Blanco, Pepperdine University, Chair

Alberto Dávila, Southeast Missouri State University, Member

Sue Stockly, Eastern New Mexico University (retired), Member

Marie T. Mora, University of Missouri – St. Louis, Advisor